Delicious Low-Carb Spring Smoothie Recipe

Early spring is a rejuvenating time. This transition of seasons, which breathes life back into the landscape, is like a rebirth. In the winter, I crave warm broths and rest days, but with the spring’s warmer, longer days comes the desire for more activities and more refreshing foods. I usually stray from smoothies in the colder months, but now that spring is in full swing, I am ready to start incorporating nutrient-dense smoothies back into my days, to revive my body, fuel more frequent and longer outings, as well as defend against sun damage.

Since I have changed a lot about my diet since last spring, I had to come up with a new recipe and… I think this is the best smoothie that I have ever made! It is full of nutrients that help fight free radicals and supply vitamins & minerals – with ingredients such as spinach, pink salt and pine pollen. Its high in fats from ghee, coconut and avocado. Using super-tasty bone broth protein is beneficial to gut health and supplies collagen to joints and tendons. This drink is paleo friendly, gluten-free, grain-free and low carb. (It can an also be made vegetarian or vegan with a few easy substitutes.)

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset


Ingredients:

Always try to source organic produce, if possible.
I get my high-quality Protein, Pine Pollen, and Ghee from Surthrival.

  • 1 Cup Spring Water
  • 1 Cup full fat Coconut Milk
  • 1 T Chia Seeds (soaked)
  • 1 Cup Spinach (sauteed in ghee or coconut oil, then left to cool)
  • 1/2 small Avocado
  • 1 tsp Pine Pollen
  • 1 tsp Maca powder
  • 1 scoop Vanilla Bone Broth Protein (or plant based alternative)
  • 1 Cup frozen Blueberries
  • 2-3 Ice Cubes
  • Pinch of Himalayan Pink Salt

Makes 2 servings – because in this house, we share.


Leave a Reply

