An ode to my LUNA sandals

I’m approaching the 2 year mark of when I first purchased this pair of LUNA sandals. They have been in 3 countries, coast to coast in the United States and I still wear them on a regular basis for hikes, runs and just beating it around town. The soles are worn, but still work as good as ever, the leather footbed is still in great shape and the leather laces are hard and faded, but still hold my feet snugly in their embrace. If ever I owned footwear that deserved some praise, it would be the LUNA Mono.

For those who don’t know, the sandal is based off of a traditional Tarahumara huarache sandals. As chronicled in Chris McDougall’s famous book, Born to Run, LUNA’s founder, Barefoot Ted, was introduced to this sandal design in the Copper Canyons of Mexico, but the design is thousands of years old. For me, this sandal fit right into my desire to live a more primal, ancestral way of life.

I’m not in my LUNAs 100% of the time, at the moment, but if its warm and I’m not on technical/steep/rocky/dangerous trails, where I don’t feel confident in an open shoe yet, you’ll likely catch me in this old pair. Since spring is arriving in full-force here in Boulder, I’m already in them all the time again.With my new, slower, low HR training, I’m finding myself on a lot more smooth trails, so there will likely be many more miles running in these sandals this year.

For anyone who has never ran in sandals, its a freeing experience to feel the sun and wind on your open feet as you run. If you are looking for a more natural way to run and to feel more connected with the landscape, I recommend trying a pair of LUNAs out. (Unless you  just want to run barefoot.) There are so many different stack heights and lace options, that you can really dial them in for your person needs. The versatility of the sandals makes them great for travel or for going on runs mid-workday, where you don’t want to carry extra shoes. I only had my LUNAs with me when I was in Italy summer ’15 and I wore them everywhere, from Milan, to the beach, to the small town farm trails that I ran on. And here, another year in the same pair has begun.

🍻 Cheers to you, LUNA! Happy Spring everyone!

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Breaking in my LUNAs high up on the AT in 2015

Roaming the streets of Italy

2 thoughts on “An ode to my LUNA sandals

  1. Just stared to run in Chocolate Monos myself. I am at the beginning of my running in sandals journey, but I know this is the direction I want to go. I 100% agree on your statement on how freeing running in sandals is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

