It Starts with Gratitude

When I decided to start blogging, the hardest part was figuring out how to start the first post. Of course I could say “Hey, welcome to my blog! I’ll be sharing stories of this, that, etc.” but then what? It felt empty to just start rambling right out of the gate. I can’t have the first thing I say be so cold and selfish.

Instead, I will begin by saying thank you. Sincerely. If you are reading this, I am so overwhelmingly grateful for you having even the tiniest amount of trust in me, that you would give me the benefit of the doubt that this will actually be worth your time! Allow me to introduce myself. My name is John. I am a guy who decided to quit his day job to pursue his dreams of becoming a professional trail runner. If you’ve been following me on Instagram at all, you’ve seen a glimpse into my life. But I wanted to share more than just a few photos with you. I want to share my experiences with you – my stories ofΒ  adventures, races I run, foods I fuel with and anything I feel could benefit other runners, movers, rewilders, or just average people.

I wanted to do this for a while now, but faced a few set backs. 2015 was rife with injury and personal let downs. The ONE race I ran, The North Face Endurance Challenge 50 mile in San Fransisco, ended 50k in when I was surprised to be told by a medic that I am so dehydrated, I need to stop. I regularly go to springs to source the purest water – that’s how obsessed I am with water and I had to drop from a race from dehydration!? With that, my year was over. I did not lose heart though. I am thankful for the lesson.

It wasn’t all bad last year, in fact there are many things that changed my life in 2015. During the months I battled injuries with ITBS and posterior tibialis, that never seemed to fully heal, I was introduced to MovNat, a natural movement practice, foundedΒ  by Erwan Lecorre who is quite an inspiration. Practicing natural movement helped heal my body and strengthen it. I started this year by winning the first MovNat challenge. This challenge was held online and people from around the world participated by recording themselves doing a different movement every day for 28 days. It was a great learning experience and I am so grateful to have not only been a part of it, but also to have won! I will be attending a MovNat workshop in Boulder in April and am super stoked to learn more and get stronger!

I also traveled a lot last year. My wife Emily and I visited the Bahamas and Italy to visit family because we got it like that. Thank you Juliana, Sandy, Valentina, Robbie, Mimmo, Louisa, Zia Anna and everyone else who was so hospitable! Upon returning from Italy we road tripped from Charlottesville, VA to Boulder, CO to pursue our dreams – mine of trail running and hers of being a wedding photographer in the mountains. We packed our tiny Nissan Versa with all we could fit and drove to our new home. I am thankful to have such a supportive and adventurous wife. I wouldn’t be where I am now without her. I also have to thank my mom for letting us crash whenever we come through Charlottesville and thank you to my cousin, Nick, for giving us a place to stop in Tennessee on all our road trips. Nick is also the guy who got me into ultrarunning and continues to give me so much support and I am eternally grateful for that!

PicMonkey Collage

I am also fortunate to have some food sponsors Honey Stinger and Thunderbird Bar. They are helping me fuel my adventures! I am so thankful for the support of these companies and I encourage you to check them out if you haven’t already!

Now that spring is getting ever closer I am looking forward to starting training in Boulder for races this summer. I am excited and grateful to be able to follow my dreams and not be tied down to working a 40 hour/ week job I really don’t want to be at. As of right now I am only doing a few freelance gigs and Emily is still in the early stages of booking weddings. We are still transitioning and living pretty low key at the moment, but I am optimistic about where this is all heading. If you’re feeling generous and want to help me get my feet off the ground a little easier, I set up a gofundme to help pay for racing expenses and I would greatly appreciate some support for this year’s racing season!

Last but certainly not least, I have to give and shout out and a BIG Thank You to all of my family that supports me and everyone else that has been a part of my journey. There are too many to list! You know who you are. I am so fortunate to have all of you wonderful people in my life!

Thank you again for taking some time out of your day to read what I have to write. I hope you will enjoy my future posts!

 

2 thoughts on “It Starts with Gratitude

Leave a Reply

